The Newly Elected Tribal Council

Seated on May 21, 2011 the Tribal Council is as follows.

George Gholson – Chairman
Bill Eddy – Vice-Chairman
Margaret Cortez – Secretary/Treasurer
Clyde Nichols – Member
  Earl Frank – Member

The Timbisha Shoshone Tribe received federal recognition in 1983. But the tribe did not receive a land base until November 1, 2000 when the Timbisha Homeland Act was signed into law. The Act transferred more than 7,700 acres of land in California and Nevada to the tribe.

The Timbisha Shoshone ancestral homelands encompass what is known today as Nevada and California, spreading through the counties of Inyo, Kern, San Bernardino and Mono in California and Nye, Mineral and Esmeralda in Nevada.


Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
Admin Office
1349 Rocking W Drive
Bishop, CA 93514
Phone: 760-872-3614
Fax: 760-690-4486